About Us

Executive Leadership

Board of Directors

Diversity Statement

About PHC

Primary Health Care (PHC) was founded in 1981 by Dr. Bery Engebretsen in Des Moines, IA.  Our mission has remained unchanged since that time, to provide healthcare and supportive services to all, regardless of insurance, immigration status, or ability to pay.  Learn more about federally qualified health centers here.

Based on the needs of the communities we serve, PHC offers a spectrum of medical and dental services including family practice, behavioral health, HIV care and services, and pharmacy. PHC’s Homeless Support Services is the entry point for serving people experiencing homelessness in Polk County. Enabling services are available to help patients with benefits enrollment, case management, transportation, translation, and patient education.

PHC employs 62 physicians, dentists, advanced practice clinicians, dental hygienists, and licensed social workers. PHC has 400 employees. In 2020, PHC clinics and programs served 37,680 patients and clients with over 137,684 patient and client encounters.

Serving Patients, Strengthening the Community

We have proudly served Central Iowa for more than 30 years, In that time, we’ve added new locations, expanded our services, upgraded technology, and increased our medical and support staff – all in an effort to provide everyone with a better patient experience and to meet the needs of the communities we serve.

Executive Leadership

Kelly Huntsman, MHA

Chief Executive Officer

Nathan Simpson, MHA

Chief Operating Officer

Elizabeth Frantum

Chief Financial Officer

Bery Engebretsen, MD

Chief Visionary Officer

Julie Raasch, RN, MHA

Chief Quality Officer

Heidi Shreck, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Board of Directors

Ben Bellus

Vice Chair

Scott Clair


Karin Derry

Past Chair

Denise Essman

Sandy Hansen

Sergio Hernandez

Janet Hicks

Alicia Huguelet

Ted Johnson


Roger Lacoy


Jeni Nosbisch

Maryna Salas

Billie Wade

Justice, Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging at PHC

Primary Health Care, Inc. seeks to create a supportive and engaging medical home for our patients and an optimal workplace with capable, compassionate, and committed employees. In the wake of the Black Lives Matter movement in May of 2020, PHC faced the hard truth that it needed to be more intentional about standards and expectations related to creating an environment that practices cultural humility, is anti-racist and does not tolerate bigotry in any form.

The Justice, Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging (JEDI-B) committee was established in September of 2020 and is made up of employees across the organization. The committee’s goal is to ensure no one is left behind in creating a supportive and engaging work environment. It will implement staff training, review current policies, actively work on anti-racist policies, and celebrate the diversity of our staff as well as the communities we serve.

Along with additional strategies developed by the Iowa Primary Care Association, this is the framework PHC is building upon to make sustainable change.

Supporting a culture where all patients and staff, regardless of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sexual orientation, gender, sex, ethnicity, or creed, feel welcome is crucial to the success of our mission – ensuring equitable access to healthcare and supportive services for all, to improve quality of life.

Translate »